the written language

Posted on

Just stumbled across this little site…  what should I read next (thanks to a cup of jo).  Maybe it will help you pick out your next mid-summer read, something to lull you to sleep or entertain you on planes and trains…

[almost a year later and i still don’t get tired of seeing the incredible Penguin Hardcover Classics designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith]

I used to be the biggest book worm as a kid… I’ll never know why my mother let me read the “Goosebumps” and “Fear Street” series by R.L. Stine, I still have to run down the hall after shutting off the bathroom light in the middle of the night.  Life was good and I was psyched when the Scholastic Book Fair set up camp and I’d agree to tack on a few extra chores for a new “Sideways Stories from Wayside School”.  Day to day crap gets in the way sometimes and the constant travel doesn’t make visits to the library very convenient but soon enough my shelves will come out of storage and I’ll dust off my old classics… I may have to hit up my parent’s attic and find my copy of “A Wrinkle in Time“, for nostalgia sake of course.

xo|agnes

p.s. I know i’m way behind (hello movie and all) but  leo just snagged a copy of “Water for Elephants” for me, can’t wait to crack the binding on the journey to San Fransisco!

p.s.s. What are you reading?

6 responses »

  1. My summer reading will be “Our August” Keep it coming!

    Reply
  2. Ya know, as you travel you should pop into the local libraries. They often have a book swap. Take a book, leave a book. That would be a fun way to see the different libraries and still do your reading.

    Reply
  3. Oh and you can get any and or all of your “pertinent” storage in your parents “crawl space” any ol’ time!

    Reply
  4. What I’m ready right now is “Ouraugust”. It’s a great read. I love it.

    Reply
  5. Aggie, H20 for elephants is an amazing read…extremely well written…a little dark, but worth it.

    Reply
  6. i do have the pleasure of frequenting the library. and our library might just be the coolest building in all of lake worth. but that’s besides the point….going to the library with a 2 year old to pick out a book for myself is like an anxiety attack waiting to happen. we have finally mastered the “library voice”, but now that he’s become so independent that he won’t hold my hand in public…trying to keep his grubby little hands off the selves is an issue. i have little time for leisurely strolling the aisles and finding the perfect read. now it’s get in, grab the first thing that looks semi appealing and get out. this tactic leads to some interesting choices that are good, just not my normal read, but it also lends itself to quite a few doosies. anyway that story got a little lengthier than i had intended….i am currently reading “i think i love you” and personally “i think it sucks” haha. it’s a dud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

